Everyday observations

When you spend most of the day in silence, the small things get their volume turned up and the big things tend to appear gaudy and you designate them to a mental background. Probably the reason why trance works for my head now.

In unexpected stretches of mental silence – mostly inspired by being in an environment where nothing induces the guilt of not following mass trends – I find myself observing and glancing sideways with glee at peculiar phenomena in my life. I get excited about them like a little baby.

For example, the snooze function on my phone only allows me to snooze it for 9 minutes at a time. Like what a choice of numbers, 9. Not 5 or 10. Not 15 or 12. 9. Imagine what must have gone through the brains of the dude who wrote the code. It’s so cool, it’s not even binary. The perfect mix of the odd in the world of booleans and evens. No you have no clue what this means, like if you set your alarm for 8 15 and snooze it, the next time you wake up it will be 8 24. That’s not alarming at all. So you snooze – and snooze – till you reach a round figure. Ok at least I do. It’s a game I play with fate. I resign myself to waking up at the next round figure my phone alarm will throw at me. And that usually takes about 45 mins to happen. Do the math. Isn’t this like amazing? Every morning I can’t figure out the math though so I end up getting late. Yea – btw – I am back to my old ways. I get to work by 9 30 am. Barely.

And thair sadam cannot be made with brown basmati rice. First of all basmati has no business being brown in the first place. I want to sue the company that thought this up. Perfect waste of awesome grain. Basmati mein baas hi nahi hai.

Other interesting facts: Labradors, my roomie tells me, do not have the signal processing power in their brains to tell them when they are full. So the ladies in the house – Molly and Jasmine – are the house bhikshus. They do the rounds with a box in their mouth and the most amazing pitiful pretty faces that beg me to find it in my heart to feed them. I can’t. They also can’t stand being alone. Leave them alone for too long in the dark and they will start barking at you as soon as you get in the door. Also, until the lady of the house comes back from work, these girls hang outside my door and lay there.

The bearded dragon is gone though. We miss his staggering panache.

All this may sound all banal – but they have become relatively important observations. They are of significance and stem in some form of non-processor-driven stimulus.

I still can’t make good sambhar though. See now that makes a HUGE difference to me. And the idlis, sambhar and chutney in Mylapore are TO DIE for. Can’t imagine San Diego can’t beat the fare here. MCafe should put the Madras back in their cafe by going to Madras first.

_________________
The sad thing about these everyday observations is that by the time you are done acknowledging how preciously and simply beautiful they are, they have stopped dealing with the recollection and memory brokers in my grey cells. So then I retire the post theretum.

________________________________

Sublime experience that automatically quells the wording enzyme:
Stern Grove


(pics from the web – will put up my own soon)

Thanks to Shanky and Kailasha – we ended up having a surreal and sublime music fest experience in one of the most awesome venues.
________________________________

One thought on “Everyday observations

  1. “When you spend most of the day in silence, the small things get their volume turned up and the big things tend to appear gaudy and you designate them to a mental background.” — One of your best lines.

Leave a Reply

