Secret Angels and Love Affairs

My office has this week long Secret Angel thingy going. The idea is you pull a chit and it contains the name of one person in the organization. You become that person’s secret angel. And then you have to do at least one thing every day to make that persn feel good.

While I haven’t been Sir Galahad or anything, my secret angel is definitely making me feel like I am having a love affair with a secret admirer. It started with her (it can’t be a him) getting a box of steamed idlis and salad for me. Thanks to Project Health, on the days I don’t get food from home, I bribe others to give me their home cooked lunch by buying them food instead. This was a very welcome thing. Second day also, I got sambaar and rice. Third day, I get custard made of no-cream milk and fruits in it. Pulao and raita. My dear secret angel has been cooking everyday and giving me Project Health compliant food.

And that’s not all – I keep getting flowers all day. Jasmine garlands that I string round my shaggy hair – apparently looking like a firang. Gladioli. Tiger lilies. An an Ikebana arrangement. A photocopy of a letter apparently written in blood.

It’s little things. But they make a whole world of a difference. We women ya know – our world revolves around these small things that men will never really ever realize. Do these small things and make your woman fall in love with you forever sez moi.

For now, I eagerly await tomorrow and what she will bring. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Secret Angels and Love Affairs

  1. Hey Deepa,

    That sums up your angel’s benevolence so well… If only we had such “angels” in real life… sigh!

  2. Another friend told me about this secret angel thingie a couple of months ago. Her story was also moving. She became the secret angel for another woman to whom she would give gifts everyday. Then when the woman discovered that it was her (my friend) who has been leaving gifts, she almost cried and hugged her and said that her husband, whom she got married out of love, never did such things for her in last 7 years. My friend and this woman are best friends now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Abhi while I was looking for a tagline for my GT, I bumbed into these quotes:

    “Sometimes I wonder if men and women really suit each other. Perhaps they should live next door and just visit now and then.” — Katharine Hepburn

    “Women do not always have to write about women, or gay men about gay men. Indeed, something good and new might happen if they did not.” — Kathryn Hughes

Leave a Reply

